top of page

Let's Get To Know Adryelle


Adryelle and her band mates fuse elements of electronica, guitar driven dream pop and synthwave with the cutting intensity of Kate Bush and Tori Amos. At once broken and healing through music and hopes to share with others like herself through beats and melody, poetic lyrics and stark imagery.


Where did you grow up?


I grew up in Baltimore, MD



What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


Probably something by Amy Grant, although I couldn’t tell you the specific song.


What influenced you to get into music?


I learned the piano at a young age, my mom and dad were worship musicians at our church and I was around it all the time as a child. They would have band practices at our place, in our basement. My mom taught me the piano and in middle school I traded learning the piano for the guitar. my dad taught me the guitar. I learned the violin in middle school as well.


When I was in high school me and my brother started a garage band with some friends. We would play in the basement or the garage for hours. Some complaining neighbors shut down our garage practices, but we continued to play at our friends or in the basement. I learned a lot of classic rock songs, this got me back into the piano when I realized I didn’t just have to play sheet music, but I could learn songs that I wanted to learn. It was around that time that I started to write poetry and decided to put the poems to music.


Music was an outlet for me, an expression. It helped me deal with a lot of pain and depression that I felt like I couldn’t otherwise express. I think music really helped me figure out what I was feeling too. I liked to draw and paint, and I had this realization that if I learned how to produce music and record, I could put out my own CD. I created the artwork for it as well as did all the recording and production. That is when I dived into that world of producing.


At what age did you start playing/singing?


I was probably 5 when I started taking piano lessons. I didn’t start singing until I was in middle school and I was shy about it for about a decade.


If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?


After high school I took some time off to work, mostly because I didn’t know what I wanted to study. I knew I wanted to do something in music, so I wound up studying film and audio production. It helped immensely with allowing me to record and produce my own projects. I think education is crucial no matter what you want to study, even if you don’t know what you want to do I would say go to school and at least do some general education classes because that might highlight something you want to do in the future. The advice I would give would be to not doubt yourself and your ability to move forward in what you love, know your value and don’t let anyone tell you less.


What are some of your favorite songs at the moment?


Some of my favorite songs include:


Jerusalema (feat. Nomcebo Zikode)- by Master KG

Saturdays (feat. HAIM) by Twin Shadow

Marks - Jordan Mackamps


Do you listen to your own music?


Yes, usually with a purpose or intention. I don’t put on my own music just to listen to it unless i’m looking for something, or critiquing something about it. I think to some extend I have to listen to it, but as far as just playing music I won’t listen in that way.


Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?


It would be a dream to collaborate with Imogen Heap, or Bjork :-)


What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career?


Most of my favorite memories come from playing music with friends, playing shows together and just supporting one another. Hanging out in the studio too!


If I had to choose one, if would probably be playing the Recher Theatre in Towson MD for an album release party.


What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?


I would say to learn as much as you can, about music, songwriting, production, continue to perfect your craft, figure out what you are really good at and do that. Don’t try to do everything, but learn as much as you can! Learn the business, the business is constantly changing. Learn about social media and how to use that and just work really hard. It’s not just about talent, most of it is about relationships.


Define what success looks like to you and create goals to get there. Build a team, a network of people to help you because it’s really hard doing everything by yourself. Figure out who your audience is and what your mission is. What makes you stand out? Connect with a community of other artists for support and never give up!



Check out Adryelle online here:












Commentaires


bottom of page