top of page

Let's Get To Know DR


1- Where did you grow up?


I was raised in The Bronx and moved up to upper Westchester County right before my freshman year of high school. Since then, I've lived in many different states and areas. I was still looking for the best place to call home.


2- What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


My first favorite was actually "Fun Day" by Stevie Wonder! I grew up listening to classical music and jazz mostly. My parents are musicians, so I got all the good stuff.


3- What influenced you to get into music?


I was born with music all around me, so it was only natural I made a career of it. I just chose an unorthodox path. Although I always loved listening to music and used it as my way back to getting centered, it was later in life when my best friend at the time, Yo B, got me into writing and creating my own lyrics and melodies. From then on, I understood my purpose. Things clicked into place.


4- At what age did you start playing/singing?


My whole extended family are incredible musicians—parents, both brothers, cousins, aunts, uncles, etc. I started playing piano at age four, then moved to trombone and drums while also studying musical theater part-time through my teenage years. It never stuck to my soul. On the side - I always wrote poetry and lyrics in school. It wasn't until my late teens that I started freestyling and joined a progressive hip-hop group. The rest is history.


5- If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?


Buy all the bitcoin! But seriously... I would tell my younger self to focus more on my inner growth and music - instead of girls and nonsense.


6- What are some of your favorite songs at the moment?


I love "Let it Go" by Bieber, "Pacino" by Bingx, "Mumble Rapper vs Lyricist" by Vin Jay, "Follow Through" by Ripe, "Easy on me" by Adele, and "Our Time" by ME.


7- Do you listen to your own music?


If I didn't love listening to my music, I'd be hard-pressed to ask everyone else to listen to it, lol. I'm always bumping my unreleased tracks around the house, at the gym, and listening closely for ways to make it better and evolve.


8- Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?


I'd love to collaborate with Vin Jay because of his commitment to good music and lyrics. I'd love to get Bieber on a track as well! I'm also interested in doing more records with some of the great collaborators I've already worked with, like Futuristic, Bingx, B Martin, and Xavier White.


9- What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career?


Man, I'd have to say winning the Jive Records competition at Six Flags in 2011! It was my first major stage experience, and it was life-changing! A close second is opening for Wiz Khalifa in LA at the Staples center - it was unreal! Recently, however, I'd say my favorite memory was making "Hiding" with Futuristic. He's been nothing but supportive and inspiring.


10- What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?


Set SMART goals, stay HUNGRY, and never let anyone tell you what you can achieve! Believe in yourself and take action based on that belief. If you do this - the world will be at your feet.




A BIG THANK YOU to DR for doing this interview!


Watch for updates about DR’s career through his official links:






Spotify: DR | Spotify


Official website: https://musicwithdr.com/










Comments


bottom of page