top of page

Let's Get To Know Eightecs


1- Where did you grow up?


I grew in a couple of different places, my family then settled south of Gothenburg in a town called Mölndal in the late 80s.


2- What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


My parents weren't really music heads. My mom listened a lot to popular radio though so I was exposed to Abba, The Police, Bee Gees as well as local Swedish acts such as Gyllene Tider, Magnus Uggla and Kicki Danielsson. But I will say Dancing Queen by Abba as one of my first songs.



3- What influenced you to get into music?


I'm not sure why, but my parents got me a small keyboard for Christmas when I was around five. I remember I found it very exciting to try to play melodies on the keyboard from songs on the radio. Later on, my uncle introduced me to Jean-Michel Jarre and that completely got me into electronic instrumental music. As a teenager I got into rock and bands like Guns 'n Roses, Scorpions, Iron Maiden and Alice Cooper.


4- At what age did you start playing/singing?


I never really learned how to play for an audience although I played keyboard when I was little and the guitar as a teenager. I was also the singer of a stoner rock band in the late 90's. After that I had a long break until 2005 when I started making chiptune and in 2007 I switched over to a DAW.


5- If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?


Not to stress too much about growing up and instead try to enjoy life, enjoy the moment more.


6- What are some of your favorite songs at the moment?


I mostly listen to old stuff but I do really like Megan McDuffee's latest album.


7- Do you listen to your own music?


I do, a lot actually haha! But hey, if you don't like your own stuff how do you expect others to?


8- Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?


I might be lucky and have something cooking with another awesome producer but I'll have to keep it a secret for now :)


9- What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career?


Man, I absolutely loved the energy in the Synth Valley chat which I played recently, wow! I've watched the replay a couple of times and I'm still amazed. Other than that, just before the pandemic I played a little live show in Gothenburg which was an amazing experience as well.


10- What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?


Set goals for yourself and try to deliver. It could be small tiny goals, you don't wanna spoil the fun. But reaching goals is a very rewarding and satisfying experience.


Eightecs has some awesome tracks out now and was also on the Synth Valley stream which you can watch in his profile page by clicking below.



Comments


bottom of page