top of page

Let's Get To Know Eva X


1- Where did you grow up?


I'm from Calgary, Canada. Land of cowboys and... well, cowboys really. We do have a small but rad goth scene though!


2- What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


My parents are from the east coast of Canada, so we actually listened to a lot of sea shanties and sort of Celtic music! The first music genre I got into of my own accord was actually J-pop. I think my parents would rather I have got into something that didn't have to be special-ordered all the time.



3- What influenced you to get into music?


I started singing at a very young age, and I always wanted to do more and more! I was in various choirs growing up, and when I started doing more basement bands and karaoke, I found that I absolutely loved it and needed to do more and more.


I also dabbled a bit in dance and burlesque later on, and that really pushed me to perform and make my own songs as well. 4- At what age did you start playing/singing? I was probably about 5 when I started singing! It's been a long time. I played piano as a child, though I didn't start picking up guitar and production until I was in my early 20s. Thank fuck I learned theory as a kid. 5- If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school? I'd tell myself to just make time for it! I do regret not doing more music in my uni years. I might have actually remembered the math behind wavetables. That said, I am extremely proud of my path after I graduated uni, and especially over the last 3 years. Eva X turns 3 this June and I'm really amazed at how far along it's come in what was not a lot of time, especially since I basically taught myself almost everything I know about production, songwriting, and marketing in that time. 6- What are some of your favorite songs at the moment? Borne From Hate - Shiv-R (I shit you not, I was one of the top 0.5% of listeners for this whole album in 2021. It is fantastic) Black Lambo - Lazerpunk Crosswise - T.M. Revolution Depravity Favors the Bold - Anaal Nathrakh The Mandalorian - Ludwig Goransson 7- Do you listen to your own music? Sometimes. I'm generally focused on what's next for Eva X, so I'm usually stuffing my ears full of cool sounds or going back to some of my favorites in my library. I like to think it gives me a bit of a mix of perspectives. 8- Which musician would you like to collaborate with next? Man, I would *kill* to collaborate with ESA. Just saying. 9- What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career? My last show, in November 2021. Such an amazing moment! After nearly two years (and too many streaming gigs to count), playing in front of an audience again was absolutely indescribable. 10- What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music? Practice your craft. Pick 2-3 things and get awesome at them. Know your strengths and be honest with your weaknesses. LEARN TO FUCKING MARKET (ok, that one is for 2015-2017 me) Try different media sometimes. I find working in photo or video or even drawing can bust up a creative rut.

Done is better than perfect. You will never make a perfect song, or a perfect album. But with practice you can make something awesome.




Eva X is a robot girl singing about human things. Be sure to check out her latest single on Bandcamp below and also follow her on social media.








Comentarios


bottom of page