top of page

Let's Get To Know Fifi Rong


Eccentric, deep and honest, Chinese-British vocalist, songwriter, and producer Fifi Rong brings pure emotional intimacy and open vulnerability into her distinctive sonic vision, subtly nuanced with a flair of her Chinese heritage. Through her songs she blends Alt Pop, Alt R&B, Electronica, Trip hop, IDM, Soundscape and UK Bass Music with her unmistakable vocals, bringing her into an elite league of paradigm-pushing, Avant-Pop artists.




1- Where did you grow up?


I was born in Beijing and grew up in Shenzhen, China. 2- What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


I don't remember, but it must have been one of the old classic Chinese songs my mum or grandma sang to me.

3- What influenced you to get into music?


I can't explain it. An inner calling, and plus being utterly and viscerally bored with absolutely everything else I tried doing. 4- At what age did you start playing/singing?

10/11, but I gave up at 14, and didn't start again seriously until a decade later. 5- If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?


If I go back to the end of my A-levels, I'd say: please reconsider choosing Economics major for undergraduate degree.


If I go back to the end of my degree, I'd say: you don't have to go to Scotland for a masters degree.


If I go back to the end of my masters, I'd say: don't bother with the PhD, just focus on making music. You'd be a PhD drop out anyway. 6- What are some of your favorite songs at the moment?

Fatal Casualties just sent me their songs Lullaby for Helsinki.


And Justin Starling, new friend in web3, absolutely fire



7- Do you listen to your own music?

Not after it's released

8- Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?

Nifty Sax, Ollie Chanin, Justin and many others in music NFT

9- What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career?


Too many. But the best is probably less to do with me but more to do with my supporters. That is the most recent crowdfunding success, as that goes to show how deep is the love and connection between me and loyal, incredible supporters. 10- What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?

Be humble to listen to others but be certain to trust yourself. Be responsible for your own career. Build your team around you. Think long-term, life long, legacy and then reverse engineer.




Check out Fifi Rong on social media and her website b


Fifi Rong website









Comments


bottom of page