top of page

Let's Get To Know Galactic Tapes


Galactic Tapes makes Synthwave music from Montreal, Canada.




Where did you grow up?


Born and raised in the suburbs of Montreal in Canada.

What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


That is a good question, I think the first one that was not influenced by my parents was Trop Tard by Soldat Louis that I used to listen to when I was 10. I just looked up the song now as I have not listened to it in years… It was NOT appropriate for that age lol What influenced you to get into music?


I’ve always dreamed of being a musician from as far as I can remember. I remember being like 5 or 6 years old playing with my cousins pretending we were in a band. My cousins were older, and they decided what everyone was going to play, funnily enough I was assigned the synthesizer. At what age did you start playing/singing?


I used to play the trumpet in a marching band at age 9. That was my first exposition to music. As far as electronic music that started a little while later when I was 16 playing with trackers on my old 286 computer. If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?


Find people with common interest that is not work related. Out of school you often want to focus on career and stuff. You end up neglecting your hobbies, however how important they are to you. I regret not surrounding myself with musicians in my 20s. What are some of your favorite songs at the moment?


Infected Mushroom - Mevushal Ani Daniel Deluxe - Guardian

These are my top 2 for sure. Composition, sound design, everything is perfect. Do you listen to your own music?


A little too much. Half of the time out of pride, half of the time out of desperation trying to make it sound adequate. Although I think these are a common theme for most musician. I saw a post recently on Twitter from a musician I admire who was posting about insecurity in their music. Weirdly that made me feel a lot more confidant in mine. Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?


To be honest I haven’t really considered who I could work with. I’m still getting used to the idea that some people actually like my music enough to listen to it, so I’m still a bit shy to approach people with collaboration requests. I think I would love to work with a singer as I think some of my music would work really well for that. What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career?


It’s still a short career but I would have to say when George Jopling randomly played one of the songs from my first EP on his radio show Synthwave+. I was really not expecting it and it was the first time someone played one of my songs without me making a request. I still grin stupidly whenever I think of it.

What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?


Give a grade from 1-10 on how good you think your music is. Then take that number and double it and that’s probably how much people will actually grade it. We’re so hard on ourselves when it comes to music production. As a bonus I would also add, if you’re just starting, try to get in touch with other musicians. I found that the elitist reputation of musicians doesn’t seem to hold true in most electronic music and synthwave communities I’ve been on, discord communities especially. Ask questions, share your work, people are usually happy to help. I know I am.




Check out a release from Galactic Tapes on Bandcamp below:







Comentarios


bottom of page