top of page

Let's Get To Know Ghostech


Where did you grow up?


The Void is where I eternally abide within; A realm that exists outside of space and time, from which the Earth realm is a construct and extension of. I occupy both as a superimposition of myself, as an anomaly between the fringes. I'm from Grapevine Texas, which is a small suburb of Ft Worth Texas. Though generally when people ask, I site Dallas as it is more widely recognized.


What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


Wow, that's a very unique question and I like it. I believe it was Billy Joel singing "Why Should I Worry" the single from the soundtrack to Oliver and Company, which I do still recall uniquely seeing it in the theater at the release in 1988, my first movie experience. I owned the cassette soundtrack of the film and it's always been a favorite of mine.


What influenced you to get into music?


The Beatles and their music, I will shamelessly say. I remember listening to their records when I was young, and being very intrigued by their interviews, and obsessed with the variety of songs and albums, and often enjoying them through headphones, daydreaming and imagining my own renditions of their songs, like little music videos in my brain. It was always very clear to me that I wanted to make music. I even started writing songs before I started playing guitar and to study theory and chords and audio and all that.


At what age did you start playing/singing?


I always sang and wrote lyrics, but the beginning was when I got a guitar at 10 years old. If anything my family has been very supportive of my love of music and for that I am eternally grateful.


If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?

Don't smoke cigarettes? lol Keep your head up, things turn out pretty great.


What are some of your favorite songs at the moment?


Now this I like.


Over the Holidays I was revisiting Mona Lisa Smile the Nat King Cole version, Soon from Gershwins Strike Up the Band, various songs by Sade, Megahit's Kill Confirmed, Domkles Inside the Algorithm, Player of Games by Grimes (which I actually have put together a Chiptune cover of for my live set, I liked it that much), Girlfriend Records Crypt of the Necrodancer Synthwave Cuts, Timerogue Adventures in Time Vol I, Miley Cyrus Plastic Hearts, Point of Origin by Takahashi Jones, Saturday by All the Damn Vampires (ive kinda fallen in love with this track all over again), Maestro Eternal, Cleeve Morris, Volt Mother, Power Rob, NightRazor...


Lol I feel like I'm carrying on, I just listen to allot of music all the time. I have noticed less Metal lately, which is kinda weird for me. Probably just Devourment tracks as I blast it in my car.


Do you listen to your own music?


It depends. Sometimes I'll have times where I'll listen to one of my records for days. Sometimes I'll go months without hearing any of it. It just kinda do what I feel like, and that's usually how I pick what I listen to, and live my life in general.


Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?


I have a good number I am already actively working with, I feel like I really can't say at this point. Just watch out 2022 because we're coming to get you.


What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career?


Sitting on the roof of the Sterling Hotel, watching the sunset over Dallas Cowboys stadium, knowing it was the last time anyone would see that, the night before it was demolished. I had run sound for a private party for the demolition company that had been contracted to do it. Was a really unique experience at that moment, and quite an eventful time of my career to say the least. I actually don't believe I've told anyone about it until now.


What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?


Do it. Always. Don't stop. If you play, you should. It's never too late. And don't let people tell you otherwise. And give me a call if you want someone to jam with.




Check out more about Ghostech on his profile page right on the site by clicking below.




Comments


bottom of page