top of page

Let's Get To Know Heidrunna


Blurring the lines of glorified 80s elation with the glossiness of the 21st century, Nordic import Heidrunna constructs a chain reaction of rhapsodic melodies in Melodramatic as she crusades through lust, heartache and the catastrophes of love.


Honest and sincere, Melodramatic encapsulates Heidrunna’s beguiling aura in the space of ten exceptionally crafted electro-pop jewels, (From Heidrunna's Bandcamp page)



Where did you grow up?


I grew up In Reykjavík, Iceland

What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?

A song by Milk and Honey called ‘Hallelujah', which was also a song from Israel that once entered for Eurovision. I was a little girl then but by the time I was 7 it had been translated to Icelandic and I used to love singing that song in Icelandic so much so that a headmistress from my school noticed and ask if she could record me.


I did and she told me that I had something special going on and she told my mum to keep an eye on this one lol! That was the beginning.

What influenced you to get into music?


I guess my influences are the records that my dad brought home from his travels, he was a captain. He brought many records home including ABBA, Boney M, Rod Stewart, Queen, Led Zeppelin, Olivia Newton John, Mini Pops… and then I heard Heart of Glass and saw Debbie Harry on the TV and I thought, that’s what I wanna do.


And obviously True Blue by Madonna was a massive favourite as a young kid too.


At what age did you start playing/singing?


I started singing very young, my mum said at 4 years old I was desperately trying to teach her to sing. I couldn’t understand why she wasn’t hitting the right note!



If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?


Maybe to have a plan B, just in case, because it’s gonna take much longer time to get your music heard than you think! But also enjoy yourself, have fun while you're trying to reach your goals, believe in yourself, work hard and don’t give up.

What are some of your favourite songs at the moment?

Doja Cat - Kiss me more

Solomon Grey- Home

The `Shirelles - Baby


I just like so many different style of music, it’s all about the feeling and the mood I’m in.


Do you listen to your own music?


Do I listen to my own music … All the time!! . Mainly my new songs! It’s because I’m working on them and then checking if everything is in the right place and I love it.


Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?


The musicians that I would like to collaborate with is somebody that will make it "harder better faster stronger" hehe….In all honesty just somebody that I would click with and would make me sound cooler and better and bring something interesting to the party.

What is one of your favourite memories so far in your music career?


My favourite memories are probably when I have been playing at festivals abroad, Belgium, Japan, Australia it was amazing, you meet so many cool bands, Glastonbury was also cool.


Also, the first time when I played in Sweden with my band Gloss. Everybody knew my song 'Lonely in Paris', singing along. That was the most amazing feeling, would love to do that again.


What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?


I would say just don’t give up, work hard, play hard, just keep on going. It’s probably gonna take much longer than you think to get where you want. So try to enjoy it and don’t get desperate. Obviously if everybody tells you that you are shit, then you probably should stop immediately!



Heidrunna has a new album coming out April 21, 2022.


Her single "Daydreamer is out now and you can listen on Bandcamp below:






Kommentare


bottom of page