top of page

Let's Get To Know Helsinki Project


1- Where did you grow up?


I grew up in Dublin, Ireland. Not Finland! 2- What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?

Probably Eye Of The Tiger by Survivor. Or Thriller by Michael Jackson. 3- What influenced you to get into music?

I've always enjoyed listening to music. I used to cut, edit and mix songs I recorded on tapes when I was about 13. I then DJ'd in my early teens, buying Trance and House music with my best mate, who sadly passed away this year. Then I got some really crappy software to make my own music on. It was god awful stuff but it planted a seed that grew.

4- At what age did you start playing/singing?

I've no musical training whatsoever! I've made music for years and played by ear until this year, when I began studying music theory. It blew my mind and changed everything.

5- If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?

Don't sweat it trying to find a career. You're still young and growing and things may change many times before you settle on what you want to do. Oh, and play an instrument.

6- What are some of your favorite songs at the moment?

'Lost In The Cloud' by Waveshaper. 'Andromeda' by Vogel. 'Space and Subconscious' by Carbon Killer. 'Dust + Stars' by Rogue VHS. I could go on and on with stuff!!

7- Do you listen to your own music?

Absolutely. I make music I would listen to, in the hope others might to. But you need to believe in yourself if you also want anyone else to.

8- Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?

So, so many. Dynatron, Waveshaper, Lyde, Absolute Valentine to name a few. I'd imagine I could learn so much in the process. They're amazingly talented.

9- What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career?

I guess it would be signing to 2 record labels almost at the same time, who found me on Soundcloud. It amounted to a dull roar (which I kinda expected) but I had no intention of a career in music until that happened. And what's happened since has been incredible!

10- What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?

Believe in yourself and your brand. Try new things and take the opportunities when they appear. Also, don't get lost in the numbers game. Likes, follows, shares, plays, fans. Just enjoy the ride, connect with others in the community (it is one of THE best!) and let the rest follow in its own time.




Check out Helsinki Project socials below and check out his latest single "Journey North" below.











Comments


bottom of page