top of page

Let's Get To Know Jimmy Brixton

Updated: Feb 1, 2023


With a new single out now titled "Bowie On Mars," Jimmy Brixton has been making a lot of awesome music. After reading this interview, you can watch his newest music video below which he collaborated on with Frida Bollani Magoni.




Where did you grow up?


I was born in Italy and emigrated to London at the age of 17. Growing up in a very small village in southern Italy fueled my desire to live in a big city and pursue my goals as an artist.


What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


Crocodile Rock by Elton John


What were some of the influences you had that made you start making music?


Music was my soul's salvation as a child. The art form that allowed me to escape from the reality I lived in. My house was filled with vinyl from pop icons like Madonna, Elton John, David Bowie, Prince and Michael Jackson. I grew up listening to them and they influenced me a lot.


At what age did you start playing/singing?


I started my music journey in my bedroom performing in front of the tv while MTV was playing. I tried to pursue my path in Italy as a teen, but I was confronted with a lot of prejudice towards wanting to dance and sing, so I left my hometown after finishing high school and emigrated to London where I started my journey as a music artist. It's been 13 years now.

If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?


To have more confidence.

What are some of your favorite songs at the moment?


I listen to a lot of music from the 80's - I pay attention to what comes out these days, but most of the tunes that are out there now don't resonate with me. I'm in love with "In The Heat of The Night" - an album by Imagination, released in 1982!!


Do you listen to your own music besides when making it or do you listen so much it gets tiring after it is released?


I do listen to my own music. As a listener, and also to learn about myself so that I can always improve.


Are there any collaborations you would like to have in the future?


Yes, I'd love to work with Pet Shop Boys and Giorgio Moroder.

What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career?


My most recent promo performances in NYC, held between last September and December.

What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?


To dive into the process, get messy and trust that things are going to work out as they need to. To keep going despite.




A BIG THANK YOU to Jimmy for doing this interview.


Be sure to check out his music and watch his latest music video below:







You can also hear "Bowie On Mars" on iem Radio right here on the website or at www.IndieElectronicMusic.com




bottom of page