top of page

Let's Get To Know Jonny Fallout



1- Where did you grow up? I grew up on the East Coast. For a long time my family lived in Connecticut, but we relocated to Pennsylvania outside of Philadelphia, when I was a teenager. Let's just say that was a big, tumultuous move with some interesting results. 2- What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid? The first song I can remember liking was "Who Can It Be Now?" by Men at Work. That chorus was infectious, the sax solo was fantastic, and the video on MTV was a complete riot. I think one of the first LPs I bought as a kid was by Men at Work as well, "Cargo". 3- What influenced you to get into music? Music was a huge part of life in my house growing up. My mother was a multi-instrumentalist and a music educator with her Masters from the Hartt Music Program at the University of Hartford. Since she had to be at home to care for myself and my sister, she ran a piano studio out of the house during the afternoons. I think she had 20 piano students a week, including us. 4- At what age did you start playing/singing? From the time I was age 6 until I turned 12, I learned classical piano from my mother. I eventually switched from classical piano to jazz and then rock. 5- If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school? Don't ever stop playing and writing music, would be my advice to myself. After finishing college, I worked in the Boston area as a musician, and got a little burnt out and discouraged. It took me a while to recover from that. 6- What are some of your favorite songs at the moment? I'm really digging "Burn" by Midnight Drift, "Maverick" by FM-84, "We Are Stardust" by Lukhash, and "Sunrise" by Shadowrunner and Primo the Alien. 7- Do you listen to your own music? At any given time, I'm usually working on a couple of new songs. If I'm not producing a song, or prepping a set for a gig, I don't listen to my own music very much. There's so much great stuff out there! I love hearing what other artists are doing. 8- Which musician would you like to collaborate with next? I think jacket. would be great to collaborate with! 9- What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career? When I was just starting out and didn't have much in the way of gear, my band had to borrow a sound system to do gigs. One evening, we cranked everything up so loud that we overloaded the speakers and fried everything by the end of our set. But playing those first notes on the keyboard filled the entire room with a wave of sound you could feel from your chest to your feet. That was immensely fun, and probably a pretty bad choice for preserving my hearing. 10- What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music? Music is the first language. If it's a part of you, then it will be one of the most rewarding parts of your life. So keep going, keep practicing, and keep learning. Jonny Fallout's single "Perpetual Drift" was released as part of a compilation called Time Lapse from Triplicate Records. He will also have a lot of remixes coming out this fall. Be sure to check out his profile page by clicking below.




Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page