top of page

Let's Get To Know Kaiyra - Artist Interview & Debut Music Video



'Overnight' is the debut single from singer-songwriter and producer Kairya.


Watch her new music video below after reading the interview.


Where did you grow up?


I grew up in a small village near Venice, in the northeast of Italy. Very nice place, 45 minutes from the Alps and 45 minutes from the sea.

What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


One of the first songs? I used to listen to Charice Pempengco a lot! He was my favourite artist when I was young. I used to listen to his song “Note To God” a lot!

What influenced you to get into music?


I actually got into singing when in middle school a class mate told me so. She even got 4th place to the voice of Italy in 2016. When I started singing I remember she was already training for a few years.

At what age did you start playing/singing?


I started playing piano when I was 8, I started with classical piano but then I realised I loved to sing and I started learning contemporary piano.

If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?


I would tell myself don’t be scared of posting online. Make covers while you sing and post them on YouTube! At that time nobody was into YouTube as much as today, if I only started before there would have been way less competition. I would tell myself to believe in my skills and to just try it out without fear.

What are some of your favourite songs at the moment?


At the moment? I don’t usually have favourite songs, but recently I’m listening a lot to “Hungry Eyes” of Eric Carmen and to “Something About You” (with Rudimental) of Elderbrook. Very different genres but I love them both very much.

Do you listen to your own music?


That’s a good question hahah. I actually don’t. Since I am involved in the production of the song since the very beginning, by the end of it and by the time the song is out I really can’t listen to it anymore.

Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?


Oh well, I’ve always wanted to sing with Charice but regarding a collaboration I guess Dua Lipa would be the first that comes to my mind.

What is one of your favourite memories so far in your music career?


Definitely would be meeting new people and getting to know the beauty of production. I learned so much in the last 2 years, I’m really grateful of what I’ve discovered, music is truly amazing when you put your heart and energy into it and then you’re proud of your creation.

What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?


Never give up and definitely the same advice I would have given myself when I was younger, don’t be scared to get your talents out there! People will appreciate if it’s made with love.



A BIG THANK YOU to Kaiyra for doing this interview!


Be sure to follow and like her on Twitter & Facebook.


Watch her music video for 'Overnight' below.








Comments


bottom of page