top of page

Let's Get To Know LUCKYKAT

Updated: Feb 27, 2022


LUCKYKAT is a British/American electronic music producer and DJ.


Where did you grow up?


Close to Blackpool in the north-west of England. What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da. I was about 6 years old and my dad showed me his turntable and pulled out a white vinyl. I asked him why it was all white and had no pictures. "Because it's called The White Album by The Beatles" was his reply. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da was a fun and memorable song as a kid but as I got older, every song became an important part of my music education. What influenced you to get into music?


My Dad. He played piano daily in the house. Then the band Oasis. Noel Gallagher's songwriting and them being from down the road from where I grew up allowed me to relate to their working-class hero story and get inspired. I bought a guitar and was in a few bands during my school years. I learned the power of songwriting from them. At what age did you start playing/singing?

I tried piano very young, but I didn't click with it. I started learning the guitar at age 13 and was in my first band by 15. I started singing at age 33. I didn't have the confidence then founded a 3-piece in Austin, Texas where I was singer/songwriter and played guitar. If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?

Stay in music even if the money wasn't there early on. Find a way to make it work. What are some of your favorite songs at the moment?

Gesaffelstein - 'Pursuit' deadmau5 - 'When The Summer Dies' Yali Blank -'Black Skies' (I heard it on an Israeli TV show and liked it so much I contacted her and did a remix of it!). Do you listen to your own music?

Yes. I make sonic sketches, so I need to go back and see what is missing every week or so. Then I can pick up the song and take it to release. Once released, I don't listen to my music unless I am playing them in a live DJ set or mix.

Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?

Charlee, Lights, Gary Go What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career?

The first person who bought one of my songs. I always said if I can positively impact the life of one person with my music, I would be happy. What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?


The barrier to entry has gone way down so it is possible to produce professional music from your bedroom. That also means your competition is infinite so if you think like a traditionalist, you will fail. I believe you have to be like an entrepreneur to succeed and always be experimenting with new channels.




Check out all of LUCKYKAT's social and music links here:


LUCKYKAT's music production company & label is Katnap:








Comments


bottom of page