top of page

Let's Get To Know Neon Highway



Taken from his Bandcamp page:

Neon Highway is a synth artist from Glasgow, Scotland.


A predominantly Synthwave sound but sometimes you'll find horror themes, ambient music, and Gothwave (is that a thing?)



How would you describe your music?


I make synth-driven music, with industrial elements through it. It probably falls under Synthwave but leaning more towards the darker side. Not to say I haven’t made lighter tracks. Ultimately there is some form of 80s and early 90s nostalgia in the style and themes; whether it’s electro, goth, ambient, or dance.


Where did you grow up?


West Coast of Scotland (near Glasgow)

What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


Pass The Dutchie (by Musical Youth) is the first song I remember hearing and liking. Maybe around 1983/1984. So much groove and joy in one tune. Instantly catchy.


What were some of the influences you had that made you start making music?

Blade Runner… and Nine Inch Nails, John Carpenter, The Cure, Kraftwerk, New Order, Depeche Mode, The KLF

At what age did you start playing/singing?

My mum was a music teacher, so I started messing with piano around age 8-9. I played Saxophone from age 12 to 21. I bought my first synth when I was 21 (traded the saxophone in for it).

If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?

Go to see even more live acts than you did. Keep that musical journey alive.

What are some of your favorite songs at the moment?

Drew Knight - ‘Stars’

Midnight Danger - ‘Into An Abyss of Fear’

Animals As Leaders - ‘Physical Education’

Do you listen to your own music besides when making it or do you listen so much it gets tiring after it is released?

Oh I never listen to my music again once it’s out there. It’s a mental release to finish it and get it out there. I don’t revisit it.

Are there any collaborations you would like to have in the future?

Yes - I haven’t asked yet though! I’d love to get some guitar down from the super talented Sleepless Nights.

What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career?

My track ‘Headlights’ was the opener for the afterparty at the 2021 all-day event in the UK - Outrun The Sun. This was a huge deal, hearing my music over a nightclub sound system, people dancing to it, with the likes of Shaun Phillips (from LeBrock) in the crowd. In fact, Ashley from Forged In Neon was there too.

What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?

Make mistakes. Make them all and learn from them. It’ll make you a better writer / producer / performer / whatever you’re trying to achieve.



A BIG THANK YOU to Neon Highway

for taking the time to do this interview. Be sure to check out more of his music at the link here: Neon Highway | Twitter, Instagram | Linktree



bottom of page