top of page

Let's Get To Know Polaroid Tide



Aaron started his music project, The Polaroid Tide, in his hometown of Eugene, Oregon during the pandemic year of 2020 with his first EP released in January 2021. His aim is to combine a voice of positivity and meaningfulness with anthem-friendly choruses and overall feel-goods.


Where did you grow up? I grew up in the Pacific Northwest of the U.S.

What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid? I’m an 80’s kid and loved the Soundtrack to the 80’s movie “Rad”. There were a number of songs on there that I loved—probably because I loved the movie so much. What influenced you to get into music? Initially it was just the curiosity of the instruments. I would see a guitar hanging on the Pawn Shop wall and have an overwhelming desire to pluck the strings just to see what it sounded like.

At what age did you start playing/singing? I started playing the trumpet when I was 10 years old. That lasted for about 5 years. My interests had changed to guitar when I was around 14 and have never put that down. If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school? I was such a timewaster. I watched far too much TV and not enough time in things that are productive. The advice I would give myself is “You’re going to die. Don’t waste any time.” I know that sounds morbid, but it’s probably what I needed to hear at the time.

What are some of your favorite songs at the moment? I love what Bastille has been putting out lately with Thelma and Louise and Distorted Light Beams. Do you listen to your own music? I absolutely do. I have no idea if that’s looked down upon or not. I heard a famous film director once say, “I make movies that I want to watch.” And I take the same approach with my music. I work so hard on each released song to make it a song that I want to listen to. Which musician would you like to collaborate with next? Kanye. Haha What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career? I converted all my music from electronic to violin, cello, and piano parts and performed them in an outside venue. I called the event “Everything Human” and it was a pretty special night, just about a month ago. What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music? Well, I feel like I’m pretty new to all of this. I’ve only had released music out for about 8 months. But the advice I’ve heard for myself is “Patience + Hard Work.” I’m willing to spend 3-5 years doing this with little return, because I know that’s what it takes. After 3 years, I’ll probably evaluate where I’m at and adjust accordingly.



Be sure to check out more of The Polaroid Tide at the links below:









Check out one of the Polaroid Tide's music videos below:




コメント


bottom of page