top of page

Let's Get To Know PONYBOY


PONYBOY is an up-and-coming DJ known for her versatility in Electro, EBM, and more. She is a prominent member of HIGH MASS, a fixture in DFW’s dark electronic scene.


Where did you grow up?


Mostly Fort Worth, Texas.


What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


Depeche Mode’s Violator was a constant in my childhood, I adored it then and still do now. A specific song changed me in the 3rd grade, when there was a special assembly to watch a string quartet perform--grad students from the nearby university. They played a song that absolutely floored me, which I afterwards learned was Eleanor Rigby. Hearing it lit something in me on fire.


What influenced you to get into music?


I studied dance for several years as a kid, and as a teen I was always making mixed CDs for friends and parties (which makes me sound way more social than I actually was). I grew up watching all those classic music video shows on MTV and VH1, always wanting to learn and listen more.

When did you start to DJ?


About 4 years ago I was with a DJ/musician who saw my potential, taught me how to mix, and gifted me a hand-me-down controller. A few months later I had my first residency with my collective, HIGH MASS.


If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?


Don’t let perfectionism paralyze you.


What are some of your favorite songs at the moment?


Vulcao da Colera by Gonçalo Salgado. I recently came across this 2017 EP and eponymous track, both of which are raw, gritty, and excellent. It feels like being pushed against the bathroom wall to make out with your biggest crush.


Do you listen to your own music?


I like to listen to my mixes while driving, exercising, or getting ready. The mixes I make and the EP I’m working on are both intended for my pleasure :)


Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?


There are several local legends I’m eager to invite to my new PONY PRESENTS residency. I’m also expanding my photo/video project, Livre Des Masques, and look forward to collaborating with some of my very talented musician friends as a video editor and music video enthusiast.

What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career?


I recently had the privilege of opening & closing for Pussy Riot with my dear friend DIS. The energy was incredible, and I feel really honored to have had the opportunity to participate in such a special night.


What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?



Trust your instincts. Don’t get overwhelmed with the details. Do whatever you want and have fun ~


Check out PONYBOY on IG at


and also on

SoundCloud at

Comentários


bottom of page