top of page

Let's Get To Know Rollercoaster


Fred & Jean of Rollercoaster

1- Where did you grow up?


We are natives of the Toulouse region in the south west of France. We grew up in a beautiful region with a lot of singing accents and seasons!


2- What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a child?


Fred: "Beat it" by Michael Jackson. Van Hallen's solo definitely made me fall in love with the electric guitar.


Jean: Heroes by David Bowie!





3- What influenced you to get into music? How did you get into it?


Fred: Spending my time working on piano repertoire or practicing with my rock band every weekend. The question didn't even arise... I didn't know how to do anything else, I didn't want to do anything else.


Jean: My father wanted me to take piano lessons so that I could play the organ when he sang in church. This episode ended when I figured out how to saturate the organ sound... :)

4- At what age did you start playing/singing?


Fred: I started playing the piano quite late at about 11 and played in a band at about 16.


Jean: I started playing the piano when I was 8 years old.

5- If you could go back in time, what advice would you give yourself after you finished school?


Fred: I would do the same thing. I was very lucky because my parents trusted me and let me make my own choices and pursue my musical experience without fear of tomorrow.


Jean: I would advise myself to pursue additional studies in the fields of sound techniques instead of trying to develop an ever more advanced instrumental technique.

6- What are your favorite songs right now?


Fred: I'm really into rock music right now and I find myself listening to old albums like Suicidal Tendancies, Steve Vai, Deff Leppard but I'm also very into the latest Synthwave and Darkwave releases.


Jean: At the moment, I listen to a lot of synthwave, like Timecop1983, Carpenter Brut ...

I really like the song: "Someone Else" by Rezz


7- Do you listen to your own music?

Fred: I don't listen to it until some time after the final production of the tracks, often with a police ear checking the mix, compression etc...

The process of composing makes you listen to the track so much that it is consumed and digested... Sometimes too much!


Jean: I will give the same answer as Fred

8- Which musician would you like to collaborate with in the future?


We are very proud to have had the support of Pylot and Timecop1983 both for the record "Night Flashes" but also for the acoustic cover released on youtube discreetly. It was reposted by Timecop himself on his Instagram account and it gave us a nice visibility. We would be proud to do a project with them!


9- What is one of your best memories so far in your musical career?


Fred: The gigs in big festivals with different bands I played in but I keep in mind a particular memory of the festival "Les plages électroniques" in Cannes (France), where we played with Washing Majazzz in front of more than 15000 people. It was incredible and I dream to play again on such events.


Jean: Shows with a rock band in which I sing, "Voodoo Angel" (and also the evenings that followed ... But that's another story ... :))


10- What advice would you give to someone starting out in music?


Fred: Be yourself and be patient : "It's a long way to the top...If you wanna rock'nroll" (ACDC)


Jean: Don't neglect the aspects related to sound techniques, it's essential. Especially to be free and independent.


Rollercoaster has just released "Night Flashes" on October 29, 2021 through Future 80's Records. Below you can check out their music on Bandcamp and see their video for "Night Flashes."





Comments


bottom of page