top of page
Writer's pictureMichael Anthony

Let's Get To Know Salme Dahlstrom


1- Where did you grow up?


In a small town called Bro outside Stockholm in Sweden. I’m a Swedish country girl - cows, goats and the occasional moose. 2- What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


“Hell on Wheels” by Cher. The love affair continues to this day, I’m a huge Cher fan. 3- What influenced you to get into music?


My sister who is two years older than me started taking piano lesson at 7 and I wanted that too. I am a very competitive person, it was not necessarily the piano itself that inspired me but rather I wanted to beat my sister at it. That of course later turned into a passion for music. After the piano I picked up an acoustic guitar and started writing songs. At 11 I discovered rock’n roll, specifically KISS, and that was it for me. 4- At what age did you start playing/singing?


I started playing piano at the age of five. I really got into singing when I started playing acoustic guitar a few years later. 5- If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?


Don’t listen to all the naysayers, believe in yourself and don’t compromise.

6- What are some of your favorite songs at the moment?


“The men who rule the world” by Garbage, actually the entire new album - Shirley Manson and the boys can do no wrong in my book, still one of my favorite all time bands

“Paprika” by Japanese Breakfast - this song has been on repeat in my headphones all summer; it is haunting and beautiful and poetic all wrapped in the perfect pop production. I love her voice.


“Fancy Like” by Walker Hayes - what a great piece of songwriting; so witty and tongue in cheek. It sounds so simple, like it was written in 10 minutes or less, all the great songs do. Never has trailer trash life seemed so romantic.

7- Do you listen to your own music?


Not often. Since I am involved in all aspects of creating my music from writing to producing to playing all the instruments and mixing I am usually done with the song by the time it’s finished. But sometimes I come a cross an older track of mine and while the first impulse is to skip forward sometimes I listen. When I do, often times than not I like what I hear. 8- Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?


Shirley Manson from Garbage, Cher and Bret Michaels of Poison.

9- What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career?


Signing my first record deal. 10- What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?


Work on your craft every day. Listen to constructive criticism from people you trust. Define who you are and what your strengths are, where you fit in in the current music landscape and what makes you different from the rest and then build your sound and message around that. Good luck and don’t f**k it up… =)



Salme has many awesome videos and music out everywhere. You may have heard her music on TV and in commercials. Check out her profile page by clicking below:



Opmerkingen


bottom of page