top of page

Let's Get To Know Shobsy


Where did you grow up?


I grew up in Dublin in a quiet suburb just outside the city. I have a lot of fond memories of both the humans and dogs/cats of the area!

What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


I remember hearing Mambo No.5 when I was about 3 or 4 and thinking it was a total banger.

What influenced you to get into music?


I would say I always knew I was going to pursue music, but I definitely recall truly knowing when I saw the documentary U2 Rattle and Hum filmed at the height of their worldwide ascension in the 80s. Seeing footage of four guys from the town I came from take over the world certainly lit a fire in me.

At what age did you start playing/singing?


Probably sounds corny but I don't think there's ever been a time I wasn't singing or at least making noise. I started to play guitar at aged 10 and piano around 15.

If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?


I'd tell myself to learn to be more patient, about everything!

What are some of your favorite songs at the moment?


Less than zero - The Weeknd, Swimming through the night - Soda Blonde, Fairground - Simply Red

Do you listen to your own music?


Only really when preparing for a show, or when it's 3am and things are hazy I can tend to get an urge to show people new music I've worked on haha.

Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?


I would love to release something with Christine and the Queens.

What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career?


Playing on Ireland's biggest talk show The Late Late Show.


What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?


Prepare to be extremely patient. Listen to friendly critique and don't ever let the flame go out that made you pick up that instrument or write that song.





A big thank you to Shobsy for doing this interview!


Check out the debut single "Vanity" by clicking below:



Comments


bottom of page