top of page

Let's Get To Know Tears Of Technology


Tears of Technology is an EDM musician / producer who is inspired by such artists as Ford, Infiniti, Kyper, Robert Miles & Tony Faline to just name a few. His style is a mixture of Breakbeat & Trance. The Tears has over a decade of experience in what is known as "vocal breaks" or Neo Freestyle as some refer to it. He also produces other breakbeat styled genres such as eHop (Electro Hop) & Electro. (From Bandcamp page)




Where did you grow up?

I grew up in New Orleans, La. Birthplace of Jazz. Which is how we are taught to create here. My father was in bands, and he discouraged the use of books and lessons. Wanted me to play from the heart. It's almost a tradition here to teach this way.


What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid?


Whew! I can remember singing Paul Simon, 504 Ways to Leave your Lover as a young child. Was one of my favorites.

What influenced you to get into music?


My father. I grew up around music. From the radio to my father playing Saxophone.


At what age did you start playing/singing?

Very young. I was exposed to instruments and music in general very young.


If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school?

Concentrate on your talents!

What are some of your favorite songs at the moment?


Chase & Status has a great new breakbeat tune called Time I am digging. I also listen to hip hop and like that tune 'Devil's Work' by Joyner Lucas.

Do you listen to your own music?


From time to time. I am a DJ also and spin my own music in my mix sets, so I hear it regardless.

Which musician would you like to collaborate with next?


Always been a solo guy. Done a few collabs. But if I could choose anyone, it be someone like Robert Miles (RIP).

What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career?


Had a few but I guess the one that stands out is when I got a remix on Jive Records at the beginning of my career.

What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music?

Never give up or quit. Bee who you are. Accept it, own it. And keep at it.



Tears Of Technology recently released a remastered collection of 80 tracks called "Through The Tears." on Bandcamp. You can get this on digital or a USB. Check it out on USB here: Through the Tears USB Album | Tears of Technology (bandcamp.com)





Listen on Bandcamp below:


Comments


bottom of page