top of page

Let's Get To Know Warpsektor


Dr. Sektor and Mr. D are the two members of Warpsektor and they each answered the following Let's Get To Know questions.


1- Where did you grow up? Dr. Sektor and Mr. D: We grew up on the East Coast of Virginia. (Beach vibes) 2- What is one of the first songs you remember liking as a kid? Dr. Sektor: I was a metal head growing up and always loved She-Wolf by Megadeth, the sound of the guitars had me listening on repeat. Mr. D.: As a kid riding in the car listening to various songs on the radio, The Heart of the Matter by Don Henley got stuck in my head. 3- What influenced you to get into music? Dr. Sektor: I have always had a deep love of music. I remember spending hours at "The Wall" and "FYE" at my local mall looking for new tapes and eventually CDs to pick up. Each time I popped a new album in it would play on repeat for days. I always wanted to be able to recreate that experience for someone else with my own music. Mr. D: Watching musicians on stage and thinking it was something magical I could never accomplish made me fascinated with it. 4- At what age did you start playing/singing? Dr. Sektor: I got into music at the age of 14 as I learned to play classical music through my highschool marching band with the Trumpet Line. I also sang in various choirs during my school years. Mr. D: I began playing music at age 15, learning to play the bass guitar from a good friend named Rick who bought me my first bass after seeing my passion and potential for music. 5- If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to yourself after finishing school? Dr. Sektor: If I could go back I would force myself to get into practicing music daily; guitar, piano, anything I could get my hands on. There is no feeling in the world like being able to play your own music. Mr. D: I would tell myself not to worry so much, opportunities will come and go. You've got it, just enjoy the ride! 6- What are some of your favorite songs at the moment? Dr. Sektor: In Flames - "Take This Life", Dreamshade - "Elephant", and Mega Drive - "Wire Rot" Mr. D: ClownC0re - "Computers" (It's so fuckin' good), "Halcyon Days" - Mokhov - "Halcyon Days", When Saints Go Machine - "Add Ends" Our musical tastes while at either end of the spectrum meet in the middle with Enter Shikari - "Sorry You're Not a Winner". 7- Do you listen to your own music? Dr. Sektor: All the time. Since I am relatively new at music production, I am always looking for ways to improve what I am creating. What better way than to listen through your entire library of songs on repeat? Mr. D: Hell yeah! It takes a team to succeed! At least that's what the poster in the hallway at the Red Cross said. If you don't like it, why would you want to share it with anyone else? 8- Which musician would you like to collaborate with next? Dr. Sektor: I am obsessed with Lebrock. They remind me of a lot of the hair metal bands I grew up on, but with epic new synths and amazingly powerful vocals. (They belong in the credits of every 80s movie ever!) Mr. D: If I could collaborate with anyone it would be Paul Meany of the now defunct Mutemath. His current influence in 21 Pilots is awesome. 9- What is one of your favorite memories so far in your music career? Dr. Sektor: When we released our first album in April of 2021 our good friend FaithintheGlitch threw a virtual album release party. Seeing hundreds of viewers freaking out about our music was absolutely surreal. I still haven't come down off of that high and it has inspired the drive I now have in pushing our music to the next level for our second album. Mr. D: This one time... at band camp... nevermind. But in all seriousness, the one that sticks out in my mind the most is when I wrote a synthy intro for a band I was in at the time and convinced the drummer to play an electronic drum pad for it, and the guitarist to take the lead synth. The crowd was mesmerized by how good the intro to our show was, and then we hit 'em with the first song. 10- What advice would you give to someone that is just starting to get into music? Dr. Sektor: As someone who only recently got into music production on a serious level, I would tell them that it's never too late. If you love music and want to create something awesome, do it, do it now! Don't let the little things get in the way. Mr. D: Have fun, explore, and jam out as much as possible. Look up to the best but don't compare yourself too harshly.


Warpsektor released their album "Cyberjank" this year. You can check out more of their pictures, videos, music and more at their profile page by clicking below. Also, there is a "Let's Talk Cyberjank" article where we talk about their album.







pop33.jpg
The Pop Art Ave website has been shut down in May of 2023 but will still be here at this link. Pop Art Ave is now featuring IEM Radio playing todays top indie electronic musicians from around the world. Listen here or at Indie Electronic Music.com
bottom of page